Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Super Duper Mod Man
10,479 Posts
Another one bites the dust. Irony so thick you could cut it with a knife. Next thing he will ask if there is room for his Bush-Cheney sticker on the fender. Seriously, I think the Buell is a pretty fine bike, and would be more fun than the one you own now. If you don't want different, then it ain't for you.

·
Registered
1,833 Posts
He forgot to ask the all important "How long will the battery hold a charge while the bike sits unridden?" question. My guess is that he'll be buying a Buell right after he takes that riding shcool program he's been talking about, and comes to visit one of us in person.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Can you do all the maintenance on your own? i.e. I am all thumbs mechanically. I can change oil and sparkplugs (and gap them) but anything more than that .Self adjusting valves right? Fuel Injection no carbs right?.

I'm no mechanic, but have found it pretty easy to work on, and the service manual is really excellent. Yes on the valves and injection.

If you use synthetic oil, how long can you go between oil changes?

How long do you WANT to go? I'm running synthetic, and still plan on changing every 3k miles, but could end up pushing that up to 5k if I'm on a long tour. Some people run really long change intervals, I don't. Clean oil = happy engine...

How is the Buell on tires? How much are they?

How do you ride? Pretty much the entire lineup comes with Pirelli tires now (except for the Blast) Diablos on the XB-R and XB-S with Scorpion Syncs on the City-X and Ulysses. The D616s on the Ulysses (now changed to Scorpion Syncs) seemed to go between 3-5k miles. People have run Pilot Roads for 7k+ without trouble... It really varies based upon how you ride, and what the roads you ride are like.

How about insurance? Right now I have full coverage and liabilty. Does anyone have Harley insurance?