Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Snuggles
4,369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are you saying that for your first bike you purchased an $18,000 bike?

Not the greatest starting point if that is what you did. But, if you just put down a large chunk of change like that, you may not mind throwing down another 2 or 3 grand and get the Kawi EX250 to learn on for the next few weeks/months. It's much lighter and easier to manage...and a lot cheaper to fix.

Or pony up $3500 to $4500 for a used SV to learn on and transform that into your track bike later.

You can always take the safety course again. No harm in that.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Ride, Ride, Ride. Get friends together and go find those fun twisty roads. Riding with others will allow you to see how they deal with issues on the street that might be different than you would handle them. I have been riding for 18 years and I am not an expert. I learn each time I ride. The best way to get more experience is to put your training in use and pratice those excercises you learned in class(i.e.-pushing on the bar in the opposite direction, etc..). If you have the capability to go to a riding course like super bike school, this will teach you some other items that MSF didnt get into. This might not be 100% usable on the street, but experience is experience and the more you "food for thought" you have the better. Keep the rubber side down.

·
The Toad
17,458 Posts
Never ever ever for one second forget that each and every cage driver in the world is out to get you. Remain as "overly cautious" as you want as long as you want. Get in as many hours on the road as you can on untravelled roads so that you really learn and improve your capabilities. As you gain experience you will begin to feel more comfortable naturally.

Be especially cautious around oversized bikers on Shovelheads.

·
Registered
44 Posts