Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi.

im a real newbie with motorcycles.... so please excuse my ignorance.

i was just wondering about the problems of dropping your motorcycle. Well, obviously physical problems... but does it also include possible internal problems or something??
:(

·
Registered
956 Posts
I've only had internal problems when dropping a bike, ie: wtf you FORGOT to put down the kick stand? I had an artificial stimulus problem in the 70's and 80's.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oh~ i see i see.
thanks for clearing that up... because i didnt really think it was a big deal when accidently dropping a bike if it resulted in physical damage, maybe a scratch here or there... but since it can cause internal problems...i guess then it is a big deal.

·
Registered
7,117 Posts
hi.

im a real newbie with motorcycles.... so please excuse my ignorance.

i was just wondering about the problems of dropping your motorcycle. Well, obviously physical problems... but does it also include possible internal problems or something??
:(
Do you mean internal physical problems with the bike or with the rider?

The innards of bikes are very tough; I've seen and participated in some bike wrecks that virtually destroyed the metalwork, suspension, and frames of bikes, but left the engine and drivetrain unharmed. Shifter shafts tend to get bent up in wrecks; resulting in a need to disassemble. Most everything else is encased.

As for the rider, your self-diagnostics will take care of that question.

·
Registered
3,640 Posts
Apparently some bikes do not like to lay on one side or the other.

Fer instance - Triumph triples supposedly dislike laying on their left side; something about oil getting where it isn't supposed to, and causing a hydraulic lock when the engine is restarted.

·
Aging Cafe` Racer
8,715 Posts