Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1996 Honda Shadow 1100
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody.
I'm new to street bikes, and new to this website or any other website having to do with motorcycles.
When I was riding dirt bikes and enduro / dual sport 2-strokers, the internet wasn't a thing for most people, and I was learning everything solo or word-of-mouth among friends.
That was 30 years ago.

So now for the last few years I've been bitten by the bug to get a motorcycle, and I've been browsing dealers, pawn shops, and even looking at those cheap Chinese bikes that are basically disposable-- not worth fixing if anything major goes wrong after the short factory warranty. I've been kicking tires for a few years. Kept up my motorcycle license even though I haven't ridden anything requiring one since about 1994, and that was on a borrowed bike.

Oh, wait. I did test-drive a used 150cc scooter that an individual was selling from a classified ad. You needed a class M license for that, since it's over 50 cc. I didn't like the small size and the lack of power -- it couldn't climb hills with my fat (then maybe 240 lbs) butt on it. On level ground it topped out at about 35 mph.

So eventually I found a 25 year old HONDA SHADOW V-Twin 1100c for sale, with a new clutch and tires, but in need of carburetor work, for $900. Had an experienced friend and part-time mechanic check it out and test ride it. I bought it and he rode it home for me; I followed in my Honda CR-V. I didn't want my first ride on it to be in heavy Atlanta traffic during rush hour. I waited until a lazy Sunday afternoon to get the feel of it at a closed-down (out of business) shopping mall and then riding quiet surface streets with 45 mph speed limits.