Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a motorcycle noob.

I don't have a license nor do I have a motorcycle. I plan on getting my license soon. I want a motorcycle simply because the commute to work every day is a lot easier and parking downtown is free for bikes/scooters/motorcycles. Basically what I am saying is that I need a bike for practical reasons, not really for personal interests (sorry!)

I would simply buy a scooter (don't laugh) but am too embarrased to get one! ha!

So, what kind of bike should I get that is practical, relatively cheap and relatively easy on insurance? I am going to buy used probably.

·
Registered
11,488 Posts
Get yerself a MAN's Scoot......

are there no bikes which are "scooterish" but still bikes?
........BossHoss 502. 'Cuz you'll outgrow that wimpy-arse 350 in six months..............

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
(I'm ignoring AirHawk; you should too.) :)

Bob - not really. A scooter, with the foot-forward floorboards, is pretty unique. I can't think of any bikes that have a similar setup. That said, there are some pretty hunky scooters out there, such as the Suzuki Burgman or some of the larger Honda scooters. They can easily keep up on freeways and in fact are good long distance machines. so you have some interesting options, if you look around.

·
Registered
11,488 Posts
... pull the wimpy [email protected] 504CI engine out of the Boss Hoss and install a Merlin. Where you been? Poofville?
Pshaw! Merlin?! Why should I go with something as antiquated and wimpy as that?

Nah, I've been attempting to wedge a Pratt & Whitney J-58JT11D-20 into my Hawk...........

·
Registered
11,488 Posts
Complete with.......

........an AFTERBURNER!

ROWR!!!

·
The Toad
17,458 Posts
Oh yeah?

Pshaw! Merlin?! Why should I go with something as antiquated and wimpy as that?

Nah, I've been attempting to wedge a Pratt & Whitney J-58JT11D-20 into my Hawk...........