Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Mobil 1 15W50 is where it's at. Price is decent, the properties are excellent and the anecdotal evidence is pristine.

I have never seen objective evidence supporting moto specific oils. I have seen decent hard evidence showing some moto specific oils to be inferior.

Great article reference by the first poster.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I have been running Mobile1 for 15 years now with great success. Many high milage bikes and cars. 88K on current street bike using 15w50 auto oil with change intervals of 5k-7k miles with very little consumption. Even with that said I have recently decided to switch to Amsoil. Those folks seem much more passionate about their products and seem to have the data to back up their claims. They also gaurantee their extended drain intervals, something Mobile1 will not do. Check them out.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I use Amsoil synthetic 2-stroke oil in my dirt bike. I am very pleased with the performance. It runs very clean with little smoke at 50:1. It costs less than Honda's oil and lasts 2x longer. I'm sure their 4-stroke oils are also excellent.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Here we are at the end of the month- must be ad renewal time. John's stupid article on stupid people, and now a half a page about a Harley and here we have a paragraph about oil. Is the point of these pointless endeavours to solicite response so your advertisers cough up money for next month? If you don't start writing more articles about motorcycles, your subscribers won't cough up more money at renewal time!

·
Registered
157 Posts
Re: oil?

A number of auto companies have recently embraced the benefits (and higher costs) of synthetic lubricants to extend maintenance intervals. i.e. a new Porsche can go a year or 12,000 miles before its first oil change. FYI, the engine is run-in at the factory and refilled with synthetic lube.