Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Koss don't remember the model number but I got mine for $14.95. They completely seal off the ear canal and because of construction will stick in your ear good enough to pull a full-face helmet on over them.

The RiderWarehouse sells them.

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
I wear normal earplugs and have J&M helmet mounted speakers and mic(for the CB). Works great and lets me hear the music without all that background noise. Plus my ears thank me for the quiet.

·
Registered
3,875 Posts
Per the Aerostich catalog, Koss "Plug" earbuds with the Etymotic earplug grafted on to it is the way to go. Someone sells them on eBay premade.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Koss-the-Plug-E...5QQihZ019QQcategoryZ88762QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I have been using them for a couple of years now, and they work great. You can get an in-line volume control from the same vendor to turn them off.

I have seen custom-molded earphones for sale at shows, but the price always turned me off.

·
Registered
4,129 Posts
Bose are nice but the db is rather low for spirited riding. The Koss' are good but don't fit under my helmet in such a way as to NOT cause pain. The Shure's were the ticket for me. I also bought a "mini amp" at Best Buy for around $30 or so to get the sound up for the "really" spirited rides.

·
Registered
126 Posts
This is exactly what I use. Cheap (about $15 bucks for the Koss earbuds and $1 for the foam earplugs) and very effective. Just drill a hole down the center of the foam earplugs, remove the earpieces from the Koss phones and glue the foam plugs in place. They fit snugly in your ear, block out all the extraneous noise and sound great. I have a stereo in my Eglide with hi-performance speakers, but these things are 10x better for a fraction of the price.

John

·
Registered
2 Posts
http://www.etymotic.com/ephp/er6i.aspx

I've been using these for about 4 years (I'm on my second pair) and they are superb.