Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Yo can`t be serious;The BSA 650 Lightning w/right foot shift.1 up and three down pattern makes an excellent first bike.1967 vintage.

The Speed tripplecomes from the correct country,though.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Which beginner bike a rider should buy would depend, to a certain extent, on the personality and level of responsibility of the rider. I've known folks that could have ridden 600cc sportbikes as their first bikes-- but I'm not one of them.

If I had it to do all over again, and started riding today, I'd want to ride a used GS500E. Cheap as dirt to purchase, I'd be able to resell it for cost (if I ever wanted to), it's light, simple, free of plastic bodywork, and it's a 500cc twin. As a beginner, I like middleweight twins because they put out broad, tractable power. They don't need to be revved to give fairly lively acceleration.

Avoiding the big depreciation hit, especially when I drop it, will help keep some cash in my pocket for when I stepped up from the GS500E to the Hayabusa turbo...

·
Registered
1 Posts
Kawasaki Ninja 250

This is a great beginner bike for many reasons:
[*] Inexpensive
[*] Great Gas mileage
[*] Good handling
[*] When first learning, bike is very forgiving when ridden conservatively (below 6000 RPM)
[*] As experience grows, bike is still fun since it can be ridden aggressively (above 6000 RPM)
[*] Sporty but comfortable enough for touring
[*] Maintenance is easy, so can learn maintenance while also learning to ride
[*] Comparatively low seat height inspires confidence for shorter riders
[*] Easy mods (i.e. tires and suspension) so that the bike can grow with your skills

·
Registered
15 Posts