Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 182 Posts

·
Registered
1,833 Posts
Nothing too surprising here. We've all commented on the large number of relatively unskilled middle aged people buying into the Harley, and Harley clone fad. Though I've never had any organized training, I've lived long enough to accumulate 3 grandchildren. I believe that the difference is that unlike many of those riders now having nasty accidents I started small and worked my way up the motorcycle learning curve. If any of you know someone new to motorcycling that is contemplating the purchase of more machine than they can probably handle, please strongly advise them against it. VWW

·
Super Duper Mod Man
10,479 Posts
Boy, you got that right. Motorcycling is serious business, and if you aren't skilled and have your head screwed on straight before every ride, expect bad things to happen. Seen too many beginners on big machines that can't handle them worth a crap.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I've been riding since 1965. One road accident on my beautiful XS 11 touring, my stupid fault!! I had no formal training as there wasn't any then. Rode someones worked over X-6 Hustler with powerband like a lightswitch, man it was a real eye opener. Took three lanes to make a left hand turn, didn' t know countersteering then but I worked it out real fast. My first own bike was aCB450 Black Bomber and my first long ride of 4500 miles on that wonderful machine done on about $200 cash.and gas @ $.25 per gal.. First dirt bike was aDT1C learned by watching and talking with experienced riders here in Michigan [BEST TRAIL SYSTEM IN THE WORLD] . Some bruises and scrapes in trail riding, ice racing , and enduros, but I always tried to think that I had to work on Monday!! I wish there had been rider education at the start. but I did OK. Always encourage all beginning riders to take those courses from MSF. Always thought that one had to be good before you were fast, and just watch where that fast is being done.

·
Registered