Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im 32, and very big,6'1 315 lbs. Im looking for a good DS bike for riding to the woods , and all over the rugged backcountry. Any suggestions on what to buy? I have no preferance to newer or older bikes. Reliability is the most important thing to me,I go 20+ miles from main hiways regularly, and do not want to have to leave a broken down bike in the woods and walk out. Second it has to be able to still handle my weight. obviously a larger bike is probably my best bet. Any ideas would greatly help , ive ridden dirt bikes plenty, im no novice, a little power doesnt intimidate me. Thanks for any info.:confused:

·
Registered
11,488 Posts
Suzuki DL1000. 100hp, big and roomy, brick reliability, and a gazzillion aftermarket upgrades. What more do you need?
Stop angling for a Sale! He's not gonna buy your bike..............

:D

·
Registered
4,129 Posts
The Suzuki DR650, Honda XR650 work great and are cheap.
The Husky TE610, KTM makes a 690 that you can get DOT approved lighting for, and Husaberg is re-entering the US market with a FE650 Enduro you can convert like the KTM.

All in all- I would pick the Husky TE610. They are built like tanks.

If it's used go KTM or Suzuki.

·
Registered
7,117 Posts
The Suzuki DR650, Honda XR650 work great and are cheap.
The Husky TE610, KTM makes a 690 that you can get DOT approved lighting for, and Husaberg is re-entering the US market with a FE650 Enduro you can convert like the KTM.

All in all- I would pick the Husky TE610. They are built like tanks.

If it's used go KTM or Suzuki.
He don't want no steekin 650! He needs 1000cc or more!

·
MODERATOR X
5,449 Posts